King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) recognizes excellence in 5 categories: Service to Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic Language & Literature, Medicine, and Science, since 1979

Islamic Studies

May the award of this Arab prize to a western scholar in these times of turmoil and of misunderstanding between faiths and cultures serve as a reminder of Islam’s magnificent religious and cultural heritage. The knowledge and appreciation of that heritage, today as in the future, are part of the common refreshment of humanity.

Speech of Professor Carole Hillenbrand

2018 Critical Editions of Islamic Historical and Biographical Texts Professor Bashar Awad 2017 Muslim Political Thought Up To The 9th Century H./15th Century G. Professor Ridwan Al-Sayyid 2016 Muslim Geography Heritage H.E. Professor Abdullah bin Yousif Al-Ghunaim 2015 Cultural Heritage of Al-Madinah Al-Munawwarah Dr. Abdulaziz Bin Abdulrahman Kaki 2014 Cultural Heritage of Makkah Al-Mukarrama H.E. Professor Abdulwahab Abou Sulaiman 2013 Studies on Islamic Criminal Law (Withheld) 2012 Human Rights in Islam H.E. Professor Adnaan Mohammed Al-Wazzan 2011 Socioeconomic Aspects in the Islamic World through 10th – 13th Century A.H/ 16th – 19th Century A.D. Professor Halil Ibrahim Inalcik 2011 Socioeconomic Aspects in the Islamic World through 10th – 13th Century A.H/ 16th – 19th Century A.D. Professor Muhammad Adnan Bakhit Al-Sheyyab 2010 Studies Dealing with Religious Endowments "waqf” in Islam (Withheld) 2009 Studies by Muslim Scholars on the Concept of “Imran” (Civilization Cycles) Professor Abdessalam M. Cheddadi 2008 Rules Governing International Relations During Peace and War in Islam (Withheld) 2007 Muslims’ Contributions to Pure or Applied Sciences Professor Roshdi Hifni Rashed 2006 Studies on The Origins of Islamic Jurisprudence (Withheld) 2005 Studies on Muslims’ Defense of their Homeland during the 5th and 6th Centuries A.H. Professor Carole Hillenbrand 2004 Basis of Islamic Jurisprudence Dr. Ali A.G.M. Nadvi 2004 Basis of Islamic Jurisprudence Dr.Yacoub A. Al Bahussain 2003 History of Islamic Economics Professor Ibrahim Abu Bakr Harakat 2003 History of Islamic Economics Professor Izz El-Din Omer Mousa 2002 Studies on the Objectives of Islamic Legislation (Withheld) 2001 Studies on Islamic Legal Rulings with no Precedent (Withheld) 2000 Studies Dealing with the Spread and Cultural Impact of Islam Outside the Arab World Professor Mohammad Muhar Ali 1999 Contributions to the Study, Verification and Authentication of the Hadith Sheikh Mohammad Nasir Ad-Din Al-Albani 1998 Studies on Islamic Libraries or the Evolution of Islamic Book Craft Professor Abd Alsattar Al-Halwaji 1998 Studies on Islamic Libraries or the Evolution of Islamic Book Craft Professor Yahia Mahmoud Bin Junaid 1997 Studies on the Status of Women in Islam Professor Abd Alkarim Zedan Biej 1996 The Life of the Prophet Mohammad Professor Akram Dia’a Al-Umari 1995 Studies Dealing with Thematic Commentary of the Holy Qur’an (Withheld) 1994 Studies Dealing with Islamic Law Professor Yousef A. Al-Qaradawi 1994 Studies Dealing with Islamic Law Shaikh El-Sayyid Sabiq At-Tihami 1993 Muslim Achievements in Sociology Professor Hasan As-Sa’ati Abd Al-Aziz 1992 Origins of Research Methodologies in Contemporary (Withheld) 1991 Studies Dealing with the Spread of Islam into an Area Outside the Present Boundaries of the Islamic World (Withheld) 1990 Financial Dealings in Islamic Shari’a Dr. Muhammad Umer Chapra 1990 Financial Dealings in Islamic Shari’a Professor Al-Seddiq M. Al-Darir 1989 Studies Dealing with the Islamic City Professor Saleh Ahmed Al-Ali 1988 Studies Dealing with Islamic Education Mohammad Kotb Shathly 1988 Studies Dealing with Islamic Education Professor Miqdad Yalcin 1987 Principles and Practices of International Relations in Islam (Withheld) 1986 Studies Dealing with Islamic History Professor Abd Al-Aziz A. Al-Duri 1985 Studies and Editions on Islamic Doctrine Dr. Mustafa M. Hilmi Suliman 1985 Studies and Editions on Islamic Doctrine Professor Farouk A. Al-Desouki 1985 Studies and Editions on Islamic Doctrine Professor Mohammad R. Salim 1984 General Theory in Islamic Jurisprudence Shaikh Mustafa Al Zarka’a 1983 Studies on the Holy Qur’an Professor Mohammad A.Odaimah 1982 Contemporary Economic Problems from an Islamic Perspective Professor Mohammad Najatullah Siddiqui 1981 Studies on the Role of Shari’a in the Restoration of the Society (Withheld) 1980 Studies of the Prophet’s Hadith Professor Mohamad Mustafa Al-A’Azami 1979 Studies Dealing with the Influence of Muslim Scholars on European Civilization Professor Fuat Sezgin


Topics in Islamic Studies highlight areas of importance in Muslim society.

Prizes for Islamic Studies were established in 1977 and first awarded in 1979.

One is considered qualified to win the King Faisal International Prize for Islamic Studies if they have carried out and published an original and outstanding study on the announced prize topic, resulting in significant benefit to Islamic scholars and to Muslims at large, and meeting one or more of the prize’s objectives as determined by the respective Selection Committee.

Apply now for the Islamic Studies Prize


  • Nominations are accepted from universities, scientific institutions and research centers.
  • Nominations are not accepted from individuals or political parties.
  • Nominated works must be published, likely to benefit mankind and enrich human knowledge.
  • The prize is not awarded posthumously.
  • Dissertations are not accepted.
  • Former Laureates of King Faisal Prize shall not be awarded the prize again.
  • More than one candidate may be nominated, irrespective of their affiliation with the nominating institution.


  • An official letter of nomination for each nominee separately, adequately justifying the nomination and outlining the nominee’s achievements in the subject-matter of the prize.
  • A list of nominated works.
  • A general information form to be filled by the nominee; this form can be duplicated if more than one candidate is nominated.


  • A CV with a list of the nominee’s publications.
  • A letter of commitment to present two lectures in his/her field of specialization, at academic institutions in the event s/he is awarded the prize.
  • Six copies of each nominated work; the total number of nominated works must not exceed five (5).
  • A recent color-photo of the nominee in 13 x 18 cm dimensions.


  • A certificate written in Arabic calligraphy featuring the laureate’s name with a brief description of the work for which s/he is awarded the Prize.
  • A commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medallion.
  • A sum of SR 750,000 (US$ 200,000).


  • Nominations are judged exclusively on the basis of scholarly merit.
  • Any nomination not fulfilling all conditions and requirements shall be excluded.
  • More than one laureate may share the Prize.
  • The decision of the Prize’s Selection Committee is final.
  • Nomination documents and nominated works shall not be returned.
  • Laureates will be announced in January 2020, and the prizes will be presented at an official ceremony later in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
  • All required documents must be received no later than March 31st, 2019