King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) recognizes excellence in 5 categories: Service to Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic Language & Literature, Medicine, and Science, since 1979

Service to Islam

King Faisal's Prize is venerable in meaning and in purpose. Faisal, and Faisal's father before him, and Faisal's brothers after him, have all worked towards spreading the truth and the victory of benevolence when they served Islam, which itself leads to the Law of Benevolence and Principles of Truth. The King Faisal Prize is an affirmation of beneficence and a solidification of its principles. And the greater honor is that I have been made a little soldier in the troop of servers of Islam; the service of Islam is an honor to the servant not a satisfaction to the need of those served. Islam needs no one, for it is mighty in its own right.

His Eminence Sheikh Ali Al-Tantawi

2020 The Makkah Charter 2019 International University of Africa 2018 Professor Irwandi Jaswir 2017 Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud 2016 H.E. Shaikh Dr. Saleh Abdullah bin Himeid 2015 Dr. Zakir A. Naik 2014 Shaikh Dr. Ahmed Lemu 2013 Shaikh Rai’d Salah Mahagna 2012 Shaikh Sulaiman Abd Al-Aziz Al-Rajhi 2011 H.E. Abdullah Ahmad Badawi 2010 H.E. Recep Tayyip Erdogan 2009 Principal Shari’a Society for Cooperation Between Quran and Sunnah Scholars 2008 Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Abd Allah bin Abd Al-Aziz 2007 H. E. Mintimer Sharipovich Shaimev 2006 His Exellency Shaikh Salih bin Abd Al-Rahman Al-Husayyin 2006 Shaikh Yusuf bin Jasim bin Muhammad Al-Hidji 2005 Al-Hariri Foundation of Lebanon 2005 His Excellency Dr. Ahmed Mohamed Ali 2004 Field Marshal Abd Ar-Rahman M.Siwar Adh-Dhahab 2003 Sultan Bin Abd Al-Aziz Al-Saud Foundation 2002 His Highness Shaikh Dr. Sultan Ibn Mohammad Al-Qasmi 2001 The Saudi Arabian High Commision For Donations To Bosnia-Herzegovina 2000 Al-Azhar Al-Sharif 1999 Mr.Jum’ah Al-Majid Abd Allah 1998 H.E. President Abdou Diouf 1997 The Honorable Seri Dato Dr.Mahathir Bin Mohammad 1996 Dr.Abd Al-Rahman Humood Al-Sumait 1995 Sheikh Gad Al-Haq Ali Gad Al-Haq 1994 Shaikh Mohammad Bin Saleh Al-Uthaimin 1993 H.E. Dr. Alija Izetbegovic 1992 H.E. Dr. Hamed Al-Ghabid 1991 H.E. Dr. Abd Allah Umar Nasif 1990 Professor Khurshid Ahmed 1990 Shaikh Ali Al-Tantawi 1989 Shaikh Mohammad Al-Ghazali Al Saqqa 1988 Dr. Ahmad Domocao Alonto 1987 Shaikh Abu Bakr Mahmoud Gumi 1986 Mr. Ahmad Husein Deedat 1986 Dr. Roger Garaudy 1985 Abd Rab Al-Rasoul Saiaf 1984 Custodian Of the Two Holy Mosques King Fahd Bin Abd Al-Aziz 1983 Sheikh Hasanein Mohammad Makhlouf 1983 HRH Prince Tunku Abd Al-Rahman 1982 Shaikh Abd Al-Aziz A. Bin Baz 1981 His Majesty King Khalid Bin Abd Al-Aziz 1980 Shaikh Sayyid Abul-Hasan Ali Al-Hasani Al-Nadawi 1980 Dr. Mohammad Natsir 1979 Sayyid Abul Ala’a Al-Mowdoodi


In awarding the Service to Islam prize, the selection committee recognizes individuals and institutions with outstanding records of service to Islam and Muslims, worldwide.

Prizes for Service to Islam were established in 1977 and first awarded in 1979.

One is considered qualified to win the King Faisal International Service to Islam Prize, if they rendered exceptional services to Islam and Muslims through knowledge and deeds, or provided other outstanding services leading to far-reaching benefits to Islam and Muslims, and meeting one or more of the prize’s objectives as determined by the respective Selection Committee.

Apply now for the Service to Islam Prize


  • Nominations are accepted from universities, Islamic organizations and institutions.
  • Nominations are not accepted from individuals or political parties.
  • The prize is not awarded posthumously.
  • A candidate should have the leading role in providing, intellectually and practically, service to Islam and Muslims, through various acts and a variety of activities, programs, and projects having a positive impact on the Muslim community.
  • Former Laureates of King Faisal Prize shall not be awarded the prize again.
  • More than one candidate may be nominated, irrespective of their affiliation with the nominating institution.


  • An official letter of nomination for each nominee separately, adequately justifying the nomination and outlining the nominee’s achievements in thesubject-matter of the prize.
  • A general information form to be filled by the nominee; this form can be duplicated if more than one candidate is nominated.


  • A CV of the nominee.
  • A letter of commitment to present two lectures in his/her field of specialization, at academic institutions in the event s/he is awarded the prize.
  • A recent color-photo of the nominee in 13 x 18 cm dimensions.


  • A certificate written in Arabic calligraphy featuring the laureate’s name with a brief description of the work for which s/he is awarded the Prize.
  • A commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medallion.
  • A sum of SR 750,000 (US$ 200,000).


  • Nominations are judged exclusively on the basis of outstanding service to Islam and Muslims.
  • Any nomination not fulfilling all conditions and requirements shall be excluded.
  • More than one laureate may share the Prize.
  • The decision of the Prize’s Selection Committee is final.
  • Nomination documents shall not be returned.
  • Laureates will be announced in January 2020, and the prizes will be presented at an official ceremony later in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
  • All required documents must be received no later than March 31st, 2019